Select Page

Author: SysAdminXpert

Steps to connect Linux Server from windows using Putty

Step 1: Download Putty Client Software from below link as per your system compatibility. Step 2: Enter IP Address and select connection type ssh with port 22.   Step 3: Enter Username in auto-login section; it will save your time by not entering username each and everything while taking access.   Step 4: Upload your SSH-Key Path in Auth tab Step 5: Save the Session after configured all things from this are not required to do above Steps 1-4.   Step 6: Double Click the saved session and you are connected to...

Read More

Jenkins Setup on LINUX

On RPM-based distributions, such as Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL), CentOS, Fedora or Scientific Linux, you can install Jenkins through yum. Recent versions are available in a YUM repository.   Installation Add the Jenkins repository to the yum repos, and install Jenkins from here. sudo wget -O /etc/yum.repos.d/jenkins.repo sudo rpm –import sudo yum install jenkins Installation of a stable version There is also a LTS YUM repository for the LTS Release Line ·         sudo wget -O /etc/yum.repos.d/jenkins.repo ·         sudo rpm –import ·         sudo yum install jenkins Installation of Java Jenkins requires Java in order to run, yet certain distros don’t include this by default. To install the Open Java Development Kit (OpenJDK) run the following: sudo yum install java Important Note on CentOS Java Jenkins requires Java in order to run, however yum install jenkins does not enforce that java is already installed. Check to make sure that you already hava java installed by running java -version. To further make things difficult for CentOS users, the default CentOS version of Java is not compatible with Jenkins. Jenkins typically works best with a Sun implementation of Java, which is not included in CentOS for licensing reasons. If you get output similar to the following, it means you’re using the default (GCJ) version of Java, which will not work with Jenkins: java -version java version “1.5.0” gij (GNU libgcj) version 4.4.6 20110731 (Red Hat 4.4.6-3) To correct this, you may need to remove the GCJ version of...

Read More

Turn off or disable firewall permanently under Linux

You want to turn off or disable firewall permanently under RHEL / Fedora Linux / Red Hat Enterprise Linux and CentOS Linux. iptables is administration tool / command for IPv4 packet filtering and NAT. You need to use the following tools: [a] service is a command to run a System V init script. It is use to save / stop / start firewall service. [b] chkconfig command is used to update and queries runlevel information for system service. It is a system tool for maintaining the /etc/rc*.d hierarchy. Use this tool to disable firewall service at boot time. How Do I Disable Firewall? First login as the root user. Next enter the following three commands to disable firewall.# service iptables save# service iptables stop# chkconfig iptables off If you are using IPv6 firewall, enter:# service ip6tables save# service ip6tables stop# chkconfig ip6tables...

Read More

Adding services to auto start after reboot in linux

The chkconfig utility is a command-line tool that allows you to specify in which runlevel to start a selected service, as well as to list all available services along with their current setting. Note that with the exception of listing, you must have superuser privileges to use this command. chkconfig – Updates and queries runlevel information for system services. SYNOPSIS        chkconfig [–list] [–type type][name]        chkconfig –add name        chkconfig –del name        chkconfig –override name        chkconfig [–level levels] [–type type] name <on|off|reset|resetpriorities>        chkconfig [–level levels] [–type type] name To display the current settings for a selected service only, use chkconfig –list followed by the name of the service: chkconfig –list service_name The chkconfig command can also be used to activate and deactivate services. The chkconfig –list command displays a list of system services and whether they are started (on) or stopped (off) in runlevels 0-6. At the end of the list is a section for the services managed by xinetd. To list all startup services in alphabetic order. $ chkconfig –list | sort | less auditd 0:off 1:off 2:on 3:on 4:on 5:on 6:off … Check the mysqld,zabbix-agent and httpd service is auto started in below mention runlevel: [root@node1 sshinde]# chkconfig –list  acpid           0:off   1:off   2:on  ...

Read More